HT Instruments — I-V500w 1,500 V I-V curve tracer
A 1,500 V I-V curve tracer for testing modules and strings in the field — strong feature list, but the product page leaves out accuracy, battery and IP figures.
Reviewed 6 October 2026
An I-V curve tracer measures a module or string’s full current-voltage curve, which shows whether it is delivering its rated power and exposes faults such as shading, mismatch, a failed bypass diode or high series resistance. HT Instruments’ I-V500w handles up to 1,500 V / 10 A or 1,000 V / 15 A, stores 249 curves (128 points each), and connects over Wi-Fi to the HTANALYSIS app.
It works with a reference cell and temperature probe: the listed HT304K accessory covers 5–1,400 W/m² at ±3.0% of reading, and the PT300N probe is a Pt1000 class B sensor for −50 °C to +105 °C. A remote unit (SOLAR-02) connects by RF so irradiance and temperature can be taken near the array. A module database holds 30 modules internally and 30,000 in the software.
The safety category is CAT III, and the page cites IEC/EN 60891 (translating I-V curves to standard conditions), IEC/EN 61010-1 (safety), IEC/EN 61187 and the EMC and low-voltage directives. It weighs 1.2 kg and measures 235 × 165 × 75 mm.
For Installers & Engineers
Deeper technical detail beyond the homeowner-facing summary above.
Because the instrument translates measured curves to standard test conditions (IEC 60891), the quality of the irradiance and temperature reading directly limits the quality of the result — a ±3% reference cell is a better foundation than a general-purpose irradiance meter.
The product page names the HT304K reference cell as the accessory, while some other listings for this model mention an HT304N sensor. Confirm which sensor is actually in the kit you are quoted.
The 1,500 V / 10 A and 1,000 V / 15 A pairing matters: current-hungry modern modules combined with large strings can exceed one limit or the other, so check string Voc and Isc against both before connecting.
The page does not state the instrument’s own voltage and current accuracy, its battery type or capacity, its IP rating, or its warranty — all of which an EPC should ask for before purchase.
The Scorecard
How we scoreStandards & Safety Compliance
CAT III safety category and named IEC/EN standards for the test method and instrument safety, but the instrument’s own accuracy is not stated on the page.
Build Quality & Durability
A 1.2 kg field instrument with a rated 1,500 V range; IP rating and battery details are not given, so ruggedness cannot be confirmed.
Fit & Ease of Use
Wi-Fi, an app, a module database and a remote unit streamline string testing; the accessory count adds setup effort.
Documentation, Warranty & Support
The page omits accuracy, battery, IP and warranty information that a buyer needs, and one sensor reference is inconsistent across sources.
Value for Money
Not assessed — we have not sourced a current India price.
Strengths
- 1,500 V / 10 A (or 1,000 V / 15 A) measurement range covers modern strings
- Stores 249 I-V curves, Wi-Fi to an app, and a large module database
- Reference-cell accessory with ±3.0% stated accuracy and a class B Pt1000 temperature probe
- CAT III safety category and standards (IEC 60891, 61010-1) cited
Watch-outs
- No stated accuracy for the instrument’s own voltage/current measurement on the page
- No battery, IP rating or warranty details on the product page
- Sensor naming differs between sources (HT304K vs HT304N) — confirm the kit contents
- 1.2 kg and several accessories to carry up a roof
Datasheet Specifications
| Measurement range | 1,500 V / 10 A or 1,000 V / 15 A · Voc 1,500 V · Isc 15 A |
|---|---|
| Curve data | 128 points · 249 curves stored |
| Module database | 30 internal · 30,000 in software/app |
| Communication | Wi-Fi with HTANALYSIS app · remote unit SOLAR-02 over RF |
| Reference cell (HT304K) | 5–1,400 W/m² · ±3.0% of reading |
| Temperature probe (PT300N) | Pt1000, class B (IEC 751) · −50 °C to +105 °C |
| Safety / standards cited | CAT III · IEC/EN 60891, 61010-1, 61187 · EMC 2014/30/EU · LVD 2014/35/EU |
| Size / weight | 235 × 165 × 75 mm · 1,200 g with batteries |
| Own accuracy / battery / IP / warranty | Not stated on the product page |
Specifications marked “datasheet-stated” are manufacturer figures we have not independently measured. Always confirm the exact model on its current datasheet before purchase.
Open the manufacturer’s datasheet for HT Instruments I-V500w 1,500 V I-V curve tracerWho It’s For
- EPCs and O&M companies testing strings at commissioning and diagnosing underperformance
- Independent engineers who need documented I-V curves referenced to standard conditions
- Teams that will pair it with a quality reference cell
Our Verdict
A capable 1,500 V I-V tracer with a good feature set and a properly accurate reference-cell option. Before buying, get the instrument’s measurement accuracy, battery, IP rating, warranty and exact kit contents in writing.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does an I-V curve tracer tell you about a solar string?
It shows how current changes with voltage, revealing whether the string delivers its rated power and highlighting problems such as shading, mismatch, failed bypass diodes or high resistance.
What voltage and current can the HT I-V500w handle?
The product page lists 1,500 V / 10 A or 1,000 V / 15 A, with open-circuit voltage up to 1,500 V and short-circuit current up to 15 A.
Why does the reference cell matter?
The tracer translates measurements to standard conditions using the measured irradiance and temperature, so errors in those readings carry straight into the result. The listed reference cell is accurate to ±3.0% of reading.
Data Provenance
- Verified on
- 6 October 2026
- ALMM status
- Unknown — verify directly
- Source datasheet
- View official manufacturer datasheet
More Testing & Commissioning Tools reviews
- FLIR — E54 advanced thermal imaging cameraHUM score 3.4/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Fluke — IRR1-SOL / IRR2-BT solar irradiance meterHUM score 3.9/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Seaward — Solar Survey 200R irradiance meterHUM score 3.6/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Testo — 872 thermal imagerHUM score 3.9/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
Learn more
Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.
No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.