Best Solar Batteries in India (2026): Datasheet Comparison
Last reviewed 6 October 2026
For most Indian homes the first battery decision is not the brand but the voltage class, because your inverter decides it. Hybrid inverters with a 40–60 V port take 48 V-class packs; others take only high-voltage batteries from their own maker. So this page splits the five batteries we reviewed into those two groups and compares them on what a datasheet can honestly tell you.
We compare usable energy (nameplate times depth of discharge), cycle life with its test conditions, warranty, ingress protection and temperature range, and the safety certificates the document actually lists. Where a datasheet is silent — and several are silent on cycle life, round-trip efficiency or BIS — the table says so rather than filling the gap. Prices appear only where we have a dated, sourced listing.
No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.
Which One Fits Your Situation
Loom Solar — CAML10051-WM (5.12 kWh LFP Wall Battery)
6,000 cycles at 80% depth of discharge, a 98% round-trip efficiency figure and IP65. Its 5-year warranty is shorter than some rivals’ and no BIS certificate is stated.
Pylontech — US5000 4.8 kWh 48 V LFP battery (as published in ZCS datasheet)
More than 6,000 cycles and a 10-year warranty on the datasheet we found — a 2018 distributor copy with an IP20 housing and no IEC 62619 listed. Ask for the current documents.
Luminous — Helios 51.2V 100Ah LFP lithium battery (5.12 kWh)
A listed ₹99,999 for 5.12 kWh with a 60-month warranty. Its rated life is about 3,000 cycles, and the page we retrieved shows no BIS, BMS or depth-of-discharge details.
Huawei — LUNA2000-5-S0 modular LFP battery (5–15 kWh)
100% stated depth of discharge, IP66, IEC 62619 and VDE 2510-50. It is a high-voltage, Huawei-only battery, and the datasheet gives no cycle life or warranty term.
Growatt — ARK HV 5.1H–25.6H battery system (ARK 2.5H-A1 modules)
5.12 to 25.6 kWh in stackable modules, IEC 62619 and a stated 10-year warranty. Its −10 °C to +45 °C window needs shade and ventilation in an Indian summer.
Side-by-Side Specifications
Figures are manufacturer datasheet values — we are not a laboratory. Scroll sideways on mobile.
48 V-class batteries (fit 40–60 V hybrid inverters)
| Product | HUM score | Capacity & usable | Voltage class | Cycle life | Warranty | Protection & temperature | Certificates listed | Price (sourced) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loom Solar CAML10051-WM | 3.9/5 | 5.12 kWh · about 4.1 kWh usable (80% DoD) | 48 V class (51.2 V) | 6,000 at 80% DoD | 5 years | IP65 · −20 to 65 °C | UN38.3, RoHS, MSDS, CE — no BIS stated | ₹1,15,000 (Aug 2026 page snapshot) |
| Pylontech US5000 4.8 kWh 48 V LFP battery | 3.8/5 | 4.8 kWh · 4.3 kWh usable (90% DoD) | 48 V class | > 6,000 at 80% DoD (2018 distributor sheet) | 10 years | IP20 · charge 0 to 50 °C | EMC, CE, UN38.3 on this sheet (no IEC 62619) | Not sourced |
| Luminous Helios 51.2V 100Ah LFP lithium battery | 3.0/5 | 5.12 kWh · DoD not stated | 48 V class (51.2 V) | Up to 3,000 (conditions unconfirmed) | 60 months | IP20 (indoor) | Not found on page (no BIS seen) | ₹99,999 (6 Oct 2026 snapshot) |
High-voltage batteries (tied to their maker’s inverters)
| Product | HUM score | Capacity & usable | Voltage class | Cycle life | Warranty | Protection & temperature | Certificates listed | Price (sourced) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huawei LUNA2000-5-S0 modular LFP battery | 4.0/5 | 5 kWh modules (5–15 kWh) · 100% DoD | High voltage (350–560 V) · Huawei inverters only | Not stated on datasheet | Not on datasheet (warranty letter) | IP66 · −20 to 55 °C | IEC 62619, VDE 2510-50, UN38.3, CE | Not sourced |
| Growatt ARK HV 5.1H–25.6H battery system | 4.0/5 | 2.56 kWh modules (5.12–25.6 kWh) · 90% DoD | High voltage (102–512 V) · Growatt HV inverters | Not stated on datasheet | 10 years (terms not stated) | IP65 · −10 to 45 °C | IEC 62619, CE, CEC, RCM, UN38.3 | Not sourced |
How to choose between them
- Start with your inverter: a 48 V-class hybrid (Deye, Solis, Growatt SPH) takes the first group; Sungrow, Huawei and Growatt high-voltage inverters take only their approved batteries. Compare inverters in our solar inverter comparison.
- Compare usable, not nameplate, energy: 5.12 kWh at 80% depth of discharge is about 4.1 kWh; 4.8 kWh at 90% is about 4.3 kWh; the Growatt 5.12 kWh at 90% is about 4.6 kWh. Size your evening load against the usable figure — battery backup sizer.
- Compare cycle life under the same conditions: a cycle count means little without its depth of discharge and temperature. As a rough throughput check, 6,000 cycles at 4.1 kWh is about 24.6 MWh for the Loom battery, against about 15.4 MWh if the Luminous delivered its full 5.12 kWh for 3,000 cycles.
- Ask about safety certificates: none of the five datasheets we read states a BIS certificate. IEC 62619 appears on the Huawei and Growatt sheets but not on the Pylontech sheet we found. Ask for the certificate for the exact model.
- Check the temperature range for your site: the Growatt ARK is rated to +45 °C, the Pylontech to +50 °C for charging, the Huawei to +55 °C and the Loom to +65 °C; the Luminous page we retrieved gave none.
For whether a battery pays back at all, read is solar battery storage worth it in India, and see lithium vs lead-acid if you are weighing chemistries.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Which is the best solar battery for an Indian home?
- There is no single best battery; it depends on your inverter and priorities. On datasheet numbers, the Loom and Pylontech 48 V batteries state the longest cycle life (6,000 cycles at 80% DoD), the Pylontech and Growatt ARK state 10-year warranties, the Huawei LUNA2000 states the highest usable fraction (100% DoD) and the Luminous Helios has the lowest sourced upfront price. Check the inverter’s approved-battery list first.
- Should I choose a 48 V or a high-voltage battery?
- Your inverter decides. 48 V-class hybrids (such as the Deye and Solis models we reviewed) accept 48 V packs from several makers; high-voltage inverters (Sungrow, Huawei, Growatt three-phase) accept only specific high-voltage batteries, usually from the same brand. High-voltage systems tie you to one ecosystem; 48 V gives more choice.
- How much does a home solar battery cost in India?
- We have two dated, sourced listings: the Luminous Helios 5.12 kWh at ₹99,999 (about ₹19,500 per nameplate kWh, 6 October 2026) and the Loom Solar 5.12 kWh at ₹1,15,000 (about ₹22,500 per kWh, an August 2026 snapshot). We have not sourced prices for the others, and prices change, so get written quotes.
- Are these lithium batteries BIS certified?
- None of the five datasheets we read states a BIS certificate. Huawei and Growatt list IEC 62619 and UN 38.3; the Loom lists UN 38.3, RoHS, MSDS and CE. Ask the seller for the BIS certificate for the exact model before buying.
- How many cycles will a solar battery last?
- Only a few datasheets state it: 6,000 cycles at 80% DoD for the Loom, more than 6,000 for the Pylontech sheet we found, and up to 3,000 for the Luminous. The Huawei and Growatt datasheets state no cycle life. Compare cycle counts only at the same depth of discharge and temperature.
Related
Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.