All reviews
Components & MaintenanceProtection & Safety

Schneider Electric — Acti9 C60NA-DC 2P 20 A / 1,000 V DC switch disconnector (A9N61690)

A DIN-rail DC isolator rated for 1,000 V — but only 20 A at that voltage, which is tighter than it looks against today’s high-current modules.

Reviewed 6 October 2026

3.8of 5 · our score

A DC isolator lets you safely disconnect a PV string or inverter input for maintenance, and it is a standard part of a DC distribution box (DCDB). Schneider’s C60NA-DC is a two-pole DIN-rail switch disconnector listed for “photovoltaic PV array” and “photovoltaic inverter protection” use, with utilisation category DC-21B and suitability for isolation under EN/IEC 60947-3.

The rating that matters is stated per voltage: 20 A at 1,000 V DC, 32 A at 800 V DC and 50 A at 700 V DC. Insulation voltage is 1,000 V DC and rated impulse withstand is 6 kV. It is a manual toggle device with ON/OFF indication, 8 modules of 9 mm (72 mm) wide, and arrives with pre-wired cable on the downside and tunnel terminals upside.

It is a plain, well-documented isolator, not a protective device: it does not trip on overload or fault. String protection (fuses) and surge protection are separate parts of the box. The datasheet is dated July 2019, so check the current version before specifying.

For Installers & Engineers

Deeper technical detail beyond the homeowner-facing summary above.

Our arithmetic on the 20 A figure: a common sizing practice multiplies a string’s short-circuit current (Isc) by 1.25 to get the minimum continuous current rating. A module with Isc of 14 A gives 17.5 A, within 20 A; a high-current module with Isc around 18 A gives 22.5 A, which exceeds it. If your string runs near 1,000 V, check the module’s Isc against this switch — or choose a higher-rated model.

The 1,000 V / 20 A rating is for the full voltage; at lower string voltages it carries more (32 A at 800 V, 50 A at 700 V). Strings are normally sized close to the inverter’s maximum input voltage on cold mornings, so use the rating at your worst-case open-circuit voltage.

Electrical durability is stated as 300 cycles (mechanical: 20,000). That is plenty for an isolator operated occasionally for maintenance, and not a device to use as a daily on/off switch under load.

Operating temperature is −25 °C to +70 °C, and the datasheet does not state an IP rating — it is meant for mounting inside an enclosure. Air inside a closed box on a sun-baked Indian roof can approach the upper limit, so ventilation and shading of the box matter.

The datasheet gives a voltage-drop figure of 100 mV at 20 A (5.02 mΩ, 2 W), so each unit dissipates a small amount of heat; across many strings in one box that adds up.

Follow Schneider’s wiring diagram for terminals and polarity: the sheet’s ratings assume the intended connection, and it does not show the wiring scheme.

The Scorecard

How we score

Standards & Safety Compliance

4.0

EN/IEC 60947-3 isolation suitability and the DC-21B category are stated, with a published current-per-voltage table. No India-specific approval is mentioned.

Build Quality & Durability

3.5

A 6 kV impulse rating and 20,000 mechanical cycles are good; −25 °C to +70 °C and no stated IP rating leave limited margin inside a hot roof enclosure.

Fit & Ease of Use

4.0

Clip-on DIN rail, a toggle with visible ON/OFF state and pre-wired cable make it easy to fit; the 20 A limit at 1,000 V needs checking against modern modules.

Documentation, Warranty & Support

3.5

A clear datasheet with ratings and torque, but dated 2019 and with only an 18-month warranty.

Value for Money

—

Not assessed — we have not sourced a current India price.

Strengths

  • Rated for 1,000 V DC with insulation voltage of 1,000 V DC and 6 kV impulse withstand
  • Suitable for isolation under EN/IEC 60947-3, utilisation category DC-21B
  • Clear ON/OFF indication and DIN-rail clip-on mounting; pre-wired lead on the downside
  • Full current-versus-voltage ratings (20 A / 1,000 V, 32 A / 800 V, 50 A / 700 V) are published

Watch-outs

  • Only 20 A at 1,000 V — check the module’s Isc × 1.25 against it, especially with high-current modules
  • No IP rating stated, so it must live inside a proper enclosure
  • Warranty is 18 months on the datasheet, which is short compared with a roof-mounted system’s life
  • No India-specific approval or BIS mention on the sheet; the document is dated July 2019

Datasheet Specifications

Type / category2-pole switch disconnector · DC-21B · suitable for isolation (EN/IEC 60947-3)
Rated operational current20 A at 1,000 V DC · 32 A at 800 V DC · 50 A at 700 V DC
Insulation / impulse voltage1,000 V DC · 6 kV
Voltage drop100 mV at 20 A (5.02 mΩ, 2 W)
Durability20,000 mechanical cycles · 300 electrical cycles
Mounting / sizeClip-on DIN rail · 8 × 9 mm pitches · 132.7 × 72 × 77.4 mm · 0.545 kg
TerminalsUpside tunnel 1–35 mm² rigid / 1–25 mm² flexible · pre-wired cable downside · 3.5 N·m
Temperature / pollution degree−25 °C to +70 °C operating · −40 °C to +85 °C storage · degree 2
Warranty18 months
IP rating / India approvalNot stated on the data sheet

Specifications marked “datasheet-stated” are manufacturer figures we have not independently measured. Always confirm the exact model on its current datasheet before purchase.

Open the manufacturer’s datasheet for Schneider Electric Acti9 C60NA-DC 2P 20 A / 1,000 V DC switch disconnector (A9N61690)

Who It’s For

  • Installers building a DCDB or string-isolation point for strings up to 1,000 V DC and modest Isc
  • Designers who want an isolator with published current ratings at several voltages
  • Anyone auditing an existing DC box for isolator voltage and current margins

Our Verdict

A straightforward, properly rated DC isolator for strings up to 1,000 V — as long as the 20 A figure fits your module’s Isc with a 25% margin. Put it in a ventilated, weatherproof box, check the latest datasheet revision, and remember it isolates but does not protect.

Frequently Asked Questions

What current can the Schneider C60NA-DC carry at 1,000 V DC?

The datasheet lists 20 A at 1,000 V DC, 32 A at 800 V DC and 50 A at 700 V DC (utilisation category DC-21B). Check the rating at your string’s maximum open-circuit voltage.

Does a DC isolator protect the string from overload?

No. An isolator disconnects the circuit when you operate it. Overcurrent protection (such as string fuses) and surge protection are separate components.

Can this isolator be mounted outdoors?

The datasheet states no IP rating and the unit is DIN-rail mounted, so it is intended to go inside an enclosure with suitable weather protection.

Data Provenance

Verified on
6 October 2026
ALMM status
Unknown — verify directly

More Protection & Safety reviews

Learn more

Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.

No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.