Genus Power — Saksham 145 single-phase smart meter
An IS 16444 single-phase smart meter with a cellular modem and remote disconnect — but its datasheet never mentions net metering, so confirm the net-meter variant with your DISCOM.
Reviewed 6 October 2026
The Saksham 145 is a single-phase, direct-connected smart meter from Genus Power Infrastructures for advanced metering infrastructure. It measures to accuracy class 1, supports time-of-use billing with up to eight registers and eight time zones, keeps six months of billing history and 35 days of load-profile data, and talks to the utility over a replaceable 2G/3G/4G/NB-IoT modem using DLMS/COSEM.
It lists IS 13779, IS 16444, CBIP 325, IEC 62052-11 and IEC 62053-21 as its standards, offers a remote connect/disconnect relay (a latching relay in phase and neutral), tamper and power-quality event reporting, and an Android app for consumers.
The important caveat for a rooftop-solar buyer: the datasheet describes billing, load management and tamper detection but says nothing about bi-directional measurement, export registers or net metering. A net meter has to register both the energy imported from and exported to the grid, and utilities generally name their own approved net-meter models. Do not assume a smart meter is a net meter — ask your DISCOM which model it approves and installs.
For Installers & Engineers
Deeper technical detail beyond the homeowner-facing summary above.
Rated current is given as Ib (Imax) of 10(60) A, 5(60) A or 5(100) A; starting current is 0.4% of Ib. Rated voltage is 230/240 V (−40% to +20%) at 50 Hz ± 5%.
Degree of protection is IP51 with an operating range of −10 °C to +55 °C and up to 95% non-condensing humidity. IP51 is basic dust and drip protection, so it belongs in a proper meter box; a sun-heated enclosure can run hotter than the surrounding air, so ventilation and shade matter in an Indian summer.
Communication is by optical port (IEC 62056-21) and a modular GSM/GPRS/2G/3G/4G/NB-IoT modem on dual band 900/1800 MHz, with a field-replaceable SIM and an optional external antenna. Because the metering is read by the utility’s head-end system, signal strength at the meter location matters as much as the meter.
Burden is 5 W / 15 VA in the voltage circuit and under 4 VA in the current circuit — normal for a meter of this class.
The Scorecard
How we scoreStandards & Safety Compliance
The Indian smart-meter standards (IS 16444, IS 13779) and IEC accuracy standards are listed, but the sheet is silent on net-metering capability and DISCOM approval — the very things a solar buyer needs.
Build Quality & Durability
IP51 and a −10 °C to +55 °C range are adequate in a good meter box but offer little margin on a hot, exposed site.
Fit & Ease of Use
Good for the utility (remote control, open protocol) and offers a consumer app; the owner generally cannot choose or configure the meter.
Documentation, Warranty & Support
Clear tabulated data from an Indian maker; no warranty, BIS registration or consumer-facing support route stated.
Value for Money
Not assessed — meters are normally supplied or specified by the DISCOM, so there is no consumer price to compare.
Strengths
- IS 13779 / IS 16444 / CBIP 325 and IEC 62052-11 / 62053-21 listed on the datasheet, accuracy class 1
- Time-of-use metering, load profile, voltage sag/swell and event logging, with a remote connect/disconnect relay
- Open DLMS/COSEM protocol and a replaceable cellular modem
- An Indian manufacturer’s datasheet with clearly tabulated ratings
Watch-outs
- No mention of bi-directional measurement, net metering or an export register — confirm the exact net-meter model your DISCOM approves
- IP51 and −10 °C to +55 °C: install in a ventilated meter box, not in direct sun
- You usually do not choose the meter: DISCOMs commonly specify or supply their own approved models
- No warranty, BIS registration number or service route is given on the sheet
Datasheet Specifications
| Type / connection | Single-phase, 2-wire, direct connected smart meter |
|---|---|
| Standards listed | IS 13779 · IS 16444 · CBIP 325 · IEC 62052-11 · IEC 62053-21 |
| Accuracy class | Class 1 |
| Voltage / frequency | 230/240 V (−40% to +20%) · 50 Hz ± 5% |
| Current rating | Ib (Imax) 10(60) A, 5(60) A or 5(100) A · starts at 0.4% Ib |
| Communication | Optical port IEC 62056-21 · modular GSM/GPRS/2G/3G/4G/NB-IoT · DLMS/COSEM |
| Load switch | Latching relay in phase and neutral (remote connect/disconnect) |
| Environment | IP51 · −10 °C to +55 °C operating · up to 95% RH non-condensing |
| Bi-directional / net metering | Not stated on the datasheet — confirm the net-meter variant with the DISCOM |
| Warranty / BIS number | Not stated on the datasheet |
Specifications marked “datasheet-stated” are manufacturer figures we have not independently measured. Always confirm the exact model on its current datasheet before purchase.
Open the manufacturer’s datasheet for Genus Power Saksham 145 single-phase smart meterWho It’s For
- DISCOMs and utilities rolling out single-phase AMI with remote connect/disconnect
- Consumers who want to understand what a smart meter does and what the datasheet does and does not promise
- Installers who need the rated-current and environmental limits for meter-box design
Our Verdict
A well-specified AMI smart meter, but not proof of net-metering capability. If your solar plan needs a net meter, ask the DISCOM for its approved net-meter model and the net-metering application checklist — this datasheet will not answer that for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a smart meter the same as a net meter?
No. A net meter must measure both the energy you import and the energy you export. The Genus Saksham 145 datasheet lists billing, load and tamper features but does not mention export measurement, so confirm with your DISCOM which model is approved for solar net metering.
Can I choose which meter my DISCOM installs for rooftop solar?
In many states the DISCOM specifies or supplies approved models, so you generally cannot pick your own. Check your DISCOM’s net-metering guidelines for its approved list.
Which Indian standards does the Saksham 145 follow?
The datasheet lists IS 13779, IS 16444 and CBIP 325, along with IEC 62052-11 and IEC 62053-21, with accuracy class 1.
Data Provenance
- Verified on
- 6 October 2026
- ALMM status
- Unknown — verify directly
- Source datasheet
- View official manufacturer datasheet
More Metering & Monitoring reviews
- L&T Electrical & Automation — Aurora single-phase smart meterHUM score 3.5/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Secure Meters — Saral single-phase direct-connected meterHUM score 3.5/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- SOLARMAN — LSW-3 Wi-Fi stick loggerHUM score 3.1/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Amphenol — Amphe-PV H4 Plus cable connectorHUM score 3.9/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
Learn more
Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.
No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.