L&T Electrical & Automation — Aurora single-phase smart meter (IS 16444 Part 1)
An IS 16444 smart meter with four-quadrant energy measurement, an IS 15959 RF option and a built-in GPRS modem — with specs “as per customer requirement”.
Reviewed 6 October 2026
L&T’s Aurora is a single-phase, two-wire smart meter built to IS 16444 Part 1, accuracy class 1.0, for 10–60 A at 240 V with a −40% to +20% voltage window. It measures four quadrants of kWh, kVArh and kVAh, records maximum demand with date and time, supports up to four time-of-day registers, and has an 8-digit backlit LCD with relay and tamper indicators.
Communication options listed are an optical port (DLMS), an RF network-area link at 865–867 MHz to IS 15959 Part 2 and an inbuilt GPRS modem. Load relays in both phase and neutral (IS 15884, UC1/UC2/UC3) can disconnect on over-current, selected tamper events or a utility signal; the brochure also lists alarms, a power-fail “last gasp” alert, event snapshots and optional prepayment.
For solar buyers the notable line is “4 quadrant measurement”: a four-quadrant meter can register energy flowing in both directions, which is what net metering needs. The brochure, however, never uses the words net metering or export, and notes that supported parameters are “as per customer requirement” — so whether a given meter is set up as a net meter is a utility configuration question.
For Installers & Engineers
Deeper technical detail beyond the homeowner-facing summary above.
Compared with the Genus Saksham 145 we reviewed, the Aurora brochure at least lists four-quadrant energy measurement (Genus’s datasheet did not mention bi-directional measurement at all). Neither document says “net meter”, so the DISCOM’s approved list and application checklist remain the authority.
Starting current is 0.2% of basic current and accuracy is stated up to 120% of maximum current, within the 10–60 A range. A 3–5 kW single-phase system stays well inside 60 A.
Operating range is −10 °C to +55 °C with IP51, the same as the Genus meter: fine in a ventilated meter box, limited for direct sun in an Indian summer.
The load-control relays and tamper-disconnect logic belong to the utility’s configuration. For a rooftop owner the practical point is that outage or disconnect events can be remotely triggered and logged.
The brochure carries no date, no revision, no warranty and no BIS registration number.
The Scorecard
How we scoreStandards & Safety Compliance
Built to IS 16444 Part 1 with IS 15959 and IS 15884 interfaces named and four-quadrant measurement listed; net-metering capability and DISCOM approval are not stated.
Build Quality & Durability
IP51 and a −10 °C to +55 °C range are adequate in a ventilated meter box with little margin in direct sun.
Fit & Ease of Use
Rich functions for the utility (relay, RF, GPRS); the owner generally cannot choose or configure it, and parameters depend on customer requirement.
Documentation, Warranty & Support
A clear tabulated brochure from an Indian maker, but undated, with no warranty, BIS number or consumer support route.
Value for Money
Not assessed — meters are normally supplied or specified by the DISCOM, so there is no consumer price to compare.
Strengths
- IS 16444 Part 1, class 1.0, 10–60 A with accuracy to 120% of maximum current
- Four-quadrant kWh / kVArh / kVAh measurement and maximum demand
- Optical, 865–867 MHz RF (IS 15959 Part 2) and inbuilt GPRS communications
- Relays in phase and neutral (IS 15884), tamper and over-current disconnection, last-gasp alert
Watch-outs
- Net metering or export measurement is never named; four-quadrant measurement is listed but must be confirmed with the DISCOM
- Supported parameters are “as per customer requirement” — the delivered configuration depends on the utility
- IP51 and −10 °C to +55 °C; the brochure is undated and states no warranty or BIS number
- Meters are normally selected and installed by the DISCOM, so an owner usually cannot choose this one
Datasheet Specifications
| Standard / class | IS 16444 Part 1 · class 1.0 · 1-phase 2-wire |
|---|---|
| Voltage / frequency | 240 V (−40% to +20%) · 50 Hz (±5%) |
| Current rating | 10–60 A · starting 0.2% of basic current · accuracy to 120% of maximum |
| Measurement | Four-quadrant kWh, kVArh, kVAh · max demand kW/kVA with date and time · up to 4 time-of-day registers |
| Communication | Optical port (DLMS) · RF NAN 865–867 MHz (IS 15959 Part 2) · inbuilt GPRS modem |
| Load control | Relays in phase and neutral (IS 15884, UC1/UC2/UC3) · disconnect on over-current, selected tampers, utility signal |
| Display | 8-digit backlit LCD · relay/tamper indicators · pulse LEDs for kWh and kVArh |
| Environment / size | IP51 · −10 °C to +55 °C · 170 × 279 × 101.7 mm |
| Net metering / warranty / BIS number | Not stated in the brochure |
Specifications marked “datasheet-stated” are manufacturer figures we have not independently measured. Always confirm the exact model on its current datasheet before purchase.
Open the manufacturer’s datasheet for L&T Electrical & Automation Aurora single-phase smart meter (IS 16444 Part 1)Who It’s For
- Utilities specifying IS 16444 single-phase AMI meters with relay and RF/GPRS options
- Solar owners who want to understand what the DISCOM’s smart meter can measure
- Installers checking meter-box ratings and communication coverage needs
Our Verdict
A capable IS 16444 smart meter that, unlike some, lists four-quadrant measurement — but it still never says “net meter”. Ask your DISCOM for its approved net-meter model and make sure the export register is enabled before commissioning.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the L&T Aurora meter be used for net metering?
Its brochure lists four-quadrant energy measurement, which allows measuring energy in both directions, but it does not mention net metering or export. Confirm with your DISCOM which model and configuration it approves.
Which standard does the L&T Aurora meter follow?
IS 16444 Part 1, accuracy class 1.0, with RF communication to IS 15959 Part 2 and relays complying with IS 15884.
What current can the L&T Aurora meter handle?
It is rated for 10–60 A at 240 V single-phase, so a typical 3–5 kW rooftop system sits well within its current range.
Data Provenance
- Verified on
- 6 October 2026
- ALMM status
- Unknown — verify directly
- Source datasheet
- View official manufacturer datasheet
More Metering & Monitoring reviews
- Genus Power — Saksham 145 single-phase smart meterHUM score 3.6/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Secure Meters — Saral single-phase direct-connected meterHUM score 3.5/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- SOLARMAN — LSW-3 Wi-Fi stick loggerHUM score 3.1/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
- Amphenol — Amphe-PV H4 Plus cable connectorHUM score 3.9/5 · reviewed 2026-10-06
Learn more
Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.
No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.