All reviews
Inverters

Deye — SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2

A single-phase 5 kW hybrid with a 120 A battery port and AC-coupling — the EU-variant datasheet and your local service are what to confirm.

Reviewed 5 October 2026

3.7of 5 · our score

The SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2 is Deye’s single-phase, low-voltage hybrid inverter: solar input, grid connection and a 48 V-class battery port in one unit. Single-phase is the supply most Indian homes have, which makes this the more relevant sibling of the three-phase SUN-5K-SG04LP3 we reviewed earlier.

On paper it offers 5,000 W AC output, up to 8,000 W of PV input (a 1.6:1 ratio against its AC rating) across two MPPT trackers with one string each, battery charge and discharge up to 120 A at 40–60 V, 97.6% maximum efficiency and an IP65 naturally cooled enclosure. It can AC-couple onto an existing grid-tied solar system, take energy from a diesel generator, and parallel up to 16 units.

The same caveat applies as on the three-phase model: this is the "-EU" datasheet. It lists European grid codes (CEI 0-21, EN 50549, VDE-AR-N 4105, G99 and others) alongside IEC 61727 and IEC 62116, but shows no India-specific approvals and says nothing about whether your DISCOM accepts a battery-connected system under net metering. Confirm both, and check that the model suffix on the unit you are quoted matches this "SM2" revision.

For Installers & Engineers

Deeper technical detail beyond the homeowner-facing summary above.

PV side: maximum input voltage is 500 V with an MPPT window of 150–425 V (start-up 125 V, rated 370 V), and each of the two trackers takes up to 18 A operating current (27 A short-circuit). The datasheet lists "max PV access power" of 10,000 W and "max PV input power" of 8,000 W without explaining the difference — size to the lower figure and ask your distributor.

Worked string example (our arithmetic, not a Deye statement): for a 144-cell module with Voc 51.42 V, Vmp 44.15 V and a −0.27%/°C voltage coefficient — the figures on the Premier TOPCon datasheet we reviewed — the cold-morning (0 °C) Voc is about 54.9 V, so 9 modules is the most that stays under 500 V, and at a 75 °C cell temperature Vmp is about 38.2 V, so 4 modules is the fewest that stay above 150 V. Strings of 4–9 modules fit; at 590 W each, 13 modules reaches the 8,000 W input limit. Our string sizing calculator does this for your own module.

Each tracker has a single string input (the datasheet shows "2 / 1+1"), so a roof with more than two orientations cannot have fully independent strings — plan the layout before choosing the inverter.

Battery side: 40–60 V (48 V nominal), 120 A charge and discharge, with the lithium charging strategy "self-adaption to BMS" — the inverter negotiates parameters with the battery’s BMS over CAN or RS485, so battery-protocol compatibility is the usual real-world integration failure point. Confirm your battery brand is on Deye’s tested list rather than relying on "LFP compatible" marketing.

Off-grid output allows a peak of twice the rated power for 10 seconds — useful for motor start-up surges — but the datasheet does not state the grid-to-backup switchover time, which matters for computers and other sensitive loads. Ask for it.

Euro-weighted efficiency is 96.5%, a little below the 97.0% on the three-phase SUN-5K-SG04LP3 datasheet, though both share a 97.6% maximum. Operating range is −40 °C to +60 °C with derating above 45 °C; the unit is natural-cooled, under 30 dB, 19 kg and 376 × 470 × 241.5 mm.

The Scorecard

How we score

Conversion Efficiency

4.0

97.6% maximum and >99% MPPT efficiency are strong; the 96.5% Euro-weighted figure is a touch below the three-phase sibling’s 97.0%, so this sits just under the best figures in our inverter reviews.

Reliability & Build

4.0

IP65, a −40 °C to +60 °C range, Type II DC and AC surge protection and a long protection list are good on paper, but field data in Indian conditions is thinner than for more established brands and the datasheet is the EU variant.

Monitoring & Software

4.0

WiFi, Bluetooth, 4G, GPRS or LAN monitoring options plus RS485, RS232 and CAN interfaces for battery and system integration.

Service Network & Support

3.0

Deye’s India service network is real but newer and still expanding, and an EU-variant datasheet means India certification and service coverage both need separate confirmation.

Value for Money

3.5

Feature set (AC-coupling, 1.6:1 PV input, 120 A battery port) is competitive for a single-phase hybrid, but we did not independently source current India pricing to judge ₹/kW value.

Strengths

  • Single-phase 5 kW hybrid with a 120 A, 48 V-class battery port — the architecture most Indian installers already know from lead-acid systems
  • Strong headline efficiency (97.6% max) and >99% MPPT efficiency
  • AC-coupling retrofit onto an existing grid-tied system, diesel generator input, 6 charge/discharge time periods and up to 16-unit parallel operation
  • IP65 enclosure, natural cooling, under 30 dB and a wide −40 °C to +60 °C operating range
  • Generous 1.6:1 maximum PV input against the 5 kW AC rating

Watch-outs

  • This datasheet is the EU variant — India-specific approvals and the exact India model suffix are not shown; ask your vendor for the India-market datasheet and certificates
  • Warranty is "5 years / 10 years, depending on the final installation site" — get the exact term in writing, not a verbal "10-year warranty"
  • Only two MPPT trackers with one string each, a 500 V maximum and a 150–425 V window — string length and roof layout need a proper design (4–9 modules in our example)
  • Grid-to-backup switchover time is not stated — ask before relying on it for sensitive equipment
  • Whether your DISCOM allows a battery-connected hybrid under net metering is a local rule the datasheet cannot answer — check before buying
  • Deye’s India service network is newer than some competitors — confirm your nearest authorised service point

Datasheet Specifications

Rated AC output5,000 W (5,500 VA max apparent power), single-phase
Max PV input power / MPPTs8,000 W (listed "max PV access power" 10,000 W) · 2 MPPT, 1 string each
MPPT voltage range150–425 V (rated 370 V, max 500 V, start-up 125 V)
Max PV current per tracker18 A operating / 27 A short-circuit
Battery voltage range / max current40–60 V · 120 A charge and discharge
Max efficiency / Euro efficiency97.6% / 96.5% (MPPT efficiency >99%)
Off-grid peak power2× rated power for 10 s
IP rating / operating tempIP65 · −40 °C to +60 °C (derates above 45 °C)
Dimensions / weight376 × 470 × 241.5 mm · 19 kg
Warranty5 or 10 years — depends on installation site; confirm in writing
Grid codes shown on datasheetIEC 61727, IEC 62116, CEI 0-21, EN 50549, NRS 097, RD 140, UNE 217002, OVE R25, G99, VDE-AR-N 4105 (EU market standards)
India-market certification (BIS/CEA)Not stated on this (EU-variant) datasheet — confirm the India SKU separately

Specifications marked “datasheet-stated” are manufacturer figures we have not independently measured. Always confirm the exact model on its current datasheet before purchase.

Open the manufacturer’s datasheet for Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1-EU-SM2

Who It’s For

  • Single-phase homes that want battery backup in one box and are comfortable with a 48 V LFP battery
  • Owners of an existing grid-tied system who want to add a battery later via AC-coupling
  • Buyers who will confirm DISCOM acceptance, the India certificates and service coverage before paying

Our Verdict

A well-specified single-phase hybrid on the numbers: strong efficiency, a 120 A 48 V battery port, genuine AC-coupling and sensible protection. But it is the EU-variant datasheet, and the things that matter most for a 10-year purchase — India certification, DISCOM acceptance of a battery-connected system, the backup switchover time and your local service — are what it cannot tell you. Get them in writing first.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1 single-phase or three-phase?

Single-phase (L+N+PE). The "LP1" in the model name denotes single-phase; our earlier review covers the three-phase "LP3" model. Most Indian homes have a single-phase supply, but check your own connection.

How many solar panels can I connect to the Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1?

The datasheet allows up to 8,000 W of PV input across two trackers with one string each, at a maximum of 500 V per string. As a worked example with 590 W, 144-cell modules (Voc about 51.4 V), that is roughly 13 modules in strings of 4–9 — our arithmetic, so confirm your own module’s voltage figures against the datasheet.

Does the Deye SUN-5K-SG04LP1 work during a power cut?

It is a hybrid inverter with off-grid output, so with a battery it can supply backup loads, allowing a peak of twice the rated power for 10 seconds. The datasheet does not state the switchover time, and how your backup loads are wired decides what is covered, so ask your installer for both.

Is this the exact Deye model sold in India?

This is the "-EU" datasheet listing European grid codes. Deye sells through Indian distributors, but we could not confirm the exact India model suffix or its BIS and CEA certification from this document. Ask your vendor for the India-specific datasheet and certificates.

Data Provenance

Verified on
5 October 2026
ALMM status
Unknown — verify directly

More inverters reviews

Learn more

Comparing options? See our solar inverter comparison for India.

Found this useful? Send it to someone planning solar.

No paid rankings, no affiliate links. No manufacturer can pay for a score or a place on this page. We review published specifications and field reality against a transparent methodology — we are not a laboratory, and we never present a number as a test we did not run.